

## NORTH YORKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the County Council held at County Hall, Northallerton on 23 January 2007.

### PRESENT:-

County Councillor Mrs Margaret Hulme in the Chair.

County Councillors Michelle Andrew, Val Arnold, Arthur Barker, Keith Barnes, Philip M Barrett, William F Barton OBE, Bernard Bateman MBE, David L Billing, John Blackburn, John Blackie, Eric Broadbent, Rob Broadley, Peter G Brown, Elizabeth Casling, Gordon Charlton, Geoffrey Cullern, Gareth Dadd, Mrs M A de Courcey-Bayley, John E Fletcher, John Fort Heather Garnett, Roger N Harrison-Topham, BEM, David Michael Heseltine, Robert Heseltine, Bill Hoult, Gillian Ivey, Michael S Knaggs, Andrew Lee, Carl Les, Morris Lightfoot, David Lloyd-Williams, Brian Marshall, J W Marshall, Shelagh Marshall, Chris Metcalfe, Leslie Parkes, Stuart Parsons, Caroline Patmore, Christopher Pearson, Paul Richardson, John Savage, Caroline Seymour, Steve Shaw-Wright, Brian Simpson, Martin Smith, Jim Snowball, Peter Sowray, Melva Steckles, Timothy Swales, Helen G Swiers, Herbert Tindall, Cliff Trotter, John Watson OBE, John Weighell, Greg White, Andrew Williams, Clare L Wood and John Wren.

Bobby Cooper, Lay Preacher, led the Council in prayers.

# **MINUTES**

#### **RESOLVED -**

**109.** That the minutes of the Meeting of the County Council, held on 20 December, 2006 having been printed and circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

## **PUBLIC QUESTIONS OR STATEMENTS**

There were no statements or questions from members of the public.

#### RESPONSE TO THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT WHITE PAPER

The following Members declared personal but not prejudicial interests in this item, as Members of the District Councils specified below:-

County Councillor

Val Arnold
Arthur Barker
Philip Barrett
David Billing
John Blackburn
John Blackie
Eric Broadbent
Rob Broadley
Peter Brown
Elizabeth Casling
Geoffrey Cullern

Mrs M A de Courcey-Bayley

John Fletcher David Heather Michael Heseltine Robert Heseltine

Bill Hoult

Margaret Hulme Gillian Ivey Carl Les Morris Lightfoot

Brian Marshall
Chris Metcalfe
Stuart Parsons
Christopher Pearson
Caroline Seymour
Steve Shaw-Wright
Brian Simpson

Martin Smith
Peter Sowray
Tim Swales
Herbert Tindall
Cliff Trotter
John Weighell
Andrew Williams

John Wren

Ryedale District Council Hambleton District Council Craven District Council

District Council

Scarborough Borough Council Scarborough Borough Council Richmondshire District Council Scarborough Borough Council Scarborough Borough Council Hambleton District Council Selby District Council

Scarborough Borough Council Harrogate Borough Council Hambleton District Council Craven District Council

Richmondshire District Council Craven District Council Harrogate Borough Council Selby District Council Selby District Council Hambleton District Council

Harrogate Borough Council
Selby District Council
Selby District Council

Richmondshire District Council

Selby District Council Hambleton District Council Selby District Council

Scarborough Borough Council

Scarborough Borough Council Hambleton District Council Hambleton District Council Scarborough Borough Council Harrogate Borough Council Harrogate Borough Council Harrogate Borough Council Harrogate Borough Council

It was moved and seconded "That the Council debate this matter in Committee."

## The Council divided and it was RESOLVED -

**110.** That the Council debate this matter in Committee.

The recommendations in the report (Page 3107) having been moved and seconded, the Council divided and, on a division by name, there were:-

For the motion	Against the motion	Abstentions
County Councillors:-	County Councillors:-	County Councillor
Michelle Andrew Val Arnold Philip Barrett Bill Barton OBE Bernard Bateman MBE David Billing John Blackburn John Blackie Eric Broadbent Rob Broadley Peter Brown Elizabeth Casling Geoffrey Cullern John Fort BEM Heather Garnett Roger Harrison-Topham Michael Heseltine Robert Heseltine Margaret Hulme Gillian Ivey Michael S Knaggs Carl Les Brian Marshall Shelagh Marshall Chris Metcalfe Stuart Parsons Caroline Patmore Christopher Pearson Paul Richardson John Savage Brian Simpson Martin Smith Jim Snowball Peter Sowray Melva Steckles Timothy Swales Helen Swiers Cliff Trotter	Against the motion County Councillors:-  Arthur Barker Keith Barnes Gordon Charlton Gareth Dadd Mrs M A De Courcey-Bayley John Fletcher David Heather Bill Hoult Morris Lightfoot David Lloyd-Williams J W Marshall Lesley Parkes Caroline Seymour Steve Shaw-Wright Herbert Tindall Andrew Williams	
John Watson OBE John Weighell Greg White Clare L Wood (42)	(16)	(1)

And the motion was declared carried.

## **RESOLVED:-**

- **111.** (a) That a proposal for a single unitary council for North Yorkshire be submitted to the Government;
  - (b) That the draft document attached to the report and the principles and proposals set out in it, be approved as the basis of that submission; and
  - (c) That the Chief Executive be delegated authority to modify, complete and finalise the text and submit the document to meet the Government deadline of 25 January 2007.